Currently the Western Provinces jurisdiction comprises the States of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington, and has International Chapters in Japan and Korea.



Our history tells us as Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity moved westward; many undergraduate chapters were being chartered in States west of Mississippi River, northwest and southwest states. On April 25, 1923 the Upsilon chapter was chartered on the campus of the University of California Los Angeles being the first chapter was it now the Western Province, formerly called Western Region/District. From 1923 to 1938 brothers who attended UCLA and remained in Los Angeles meet regularly and established the Los Angeles Alumni chartered on August 8, 1938. The Los Angeles Alumni chapter continued to induct brothers through the Upsilon Chapter at both Undergraduate and Alumni levels. Two years later the Berkley Alumni was chartered on August 28, 1941.


The now known Provinces were formally called Regions/Districts. In 1925, the fraternity held its 15th Grand Chapter Meeting December 26th thru 30th in New York City.  Grand Polemarch Earl B. Dickerson and members assembled changed the designation of Regional Director to Province Polemarch. The first Polemarch of the Western Region/District as they were called then was Judge Carl R. Johnson from Kansas City Missouri and member of the Kansas City Alumni in 1925 until 1931. The second Province Polemarch was J.S. Hunnicut who served from 1931-1932 from Topeka Kansas Alumni.  During the those early years of the fraternities history, the Western Region/District extended no further west than the State of Kansas, Oklahoma and Nebraska except for the Upsilon Chapter at the University of California Los Angeles. As chapters were established westward the Western Region/District expanded thus laid the foundation for the chapters which today make up the Western Province.


W.H.J Beckett became the 3rd Western Province Polemarch in 1932. Dr J.G. Hatcher the 4th Western Province Polemarch served from 1934 until 1939. Leon W. Steward the 5th Province Polemarch in 1939 and the 6th Province Polemarch John W. Brewer in 1941.


In 1946 Frank LaVigne moved to Los Angeles and was the 7th Western Province Polemarch. In 1947 Thomas Bradley became 8th Western Polemarch and the Western Province blossomed into what it is today. Brother Bradley was the Western Province Polemarch for ten years from 1947 to 1957 thus serving the longest term as Western Province Polemarch. Under Brother Bradley’s leadership the Western Province chartered 12 new chapters.


The 9th Province Polemarch is Ulysses Plummer who served from 1957-1958 and later was named the first recipient from the Western Province to receive the Elder Watson Diggs Award in 1958. The 10th Province Polemarch is Charles “Jack” Sudduth who served from 1958-1964 and later received the Elder Watson Diggs Award in 1974.


The 11th Province Polemarch is Robert F. Green who served from 1964-1969. Brother Green was stricken by a heart attack while attending an Annual Black and White formal at the Hollywood Palladium. He served as Polemarch of the Los Angles Alumni Chapter for seventeen Years. The Los Angeles Alumni Kappa Kastle is named after Brother Robert F. Green.


The 12th Province Polemarch is Charles “Jack” Sudduth who served from 1969-1970 in interim due to the sudden passing of the 11th Province Polemarch Robert F. Green.


The 13th Province Polemarch is Randall C. Bacon who served from 1970-1973 from the Los Angeles Alumni Chapter and was elected as the 25th Grand Polemarch.


The 14th Province Polemarch is James O. Whaley from the San Diego Alumni who served from 1973-1975 and was later bestowed the Elder Watson Diggs Award in 1977 Denver Colorado.


The 15th Province Polemarch is Robert L. Harris who served from 1975-1979 from the Berkley Alumni Chapter. Brother Robert L. Harris Esq was elected as the 27th Grand Polemarch of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.


The 16th Province Polemarch is Edward Shelton Jr. who served from 1979-1986 esteemed member of the Vallejo-Fairfield Alumni Chapter. Much of the history contained in this document was passed down from Brother Shelton.


The 17th Province Polemarch is Mordecia Spriggs who served from 1986-1988 from the Phoenix Alumni Chapter.


The 18th Province Polemarch is Edgar H. Bishop, who served from 1988-1992 from the Los Angeles Alumni.Our Polemarchs and Advisor Summit is named after Brother Bishop.


The 19th Province Polemarch is Davis L. Mills who served from 1992-1995, from the Seattle Alumni Chapter.


The 20th Province Polemarch is Kevin D. Kinsey who served from 1995-2001 from the Los Angeles Alumni.


The 21th Province Polemarch is Curtis R. Silvers who served from 2001 to 1009 from the Pasadena Alumni Chapter.


The 22nd and current Western Province Polemarch is Samuel B. Knight from San Diego Alumni Chapter.

Grand Polemarchs

Mayor Tom Bradley
1964 – 1967

Randall C. Bacon
1985 – 1988

Robert L. Harris
1991 – 1995




Guy L. Grant Awardees

Joseph Jimerson
Beta Omega

USC. Los Angeles

Damon Berry
Gamma Eta

Univ. Wash, Seattle

Dramaine Irions
Delta Alpha

Portland State University

Western Province Website

Laurel Wreath Laureates

Mayor Tom Bradley

Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr.

Randall C. Bacon

Robert L. Harris

Elder Watson Diggs Awardees

Ulysses Plummer – Portland Alumni

Charles “Jack” Sudduth – Berkeley Alumni

James O. Whaley – San Diego Alumni

James L. Bradford – Berkeley Alumni

Edgar H. Bishop, Jr. – Los Angeles Alumni

Peter Butler, Jr. – Los Angeles Alumni

Edward Shelton, Jr. –  Vallejo/Fairfield Alumni

Sterling Dover – Seattle Alumni

Rhen C. Bass – Ventura Alumni